Click here to return to the main site entry page
Click here to return to the previous page

Bernard Vann Close
Ceremony for Unveiling the Sign 3rd March 2016
The sign


10.50am Vehicles parked in Rushden Primary Academy Car Park and participants gather round Bernard Vann Close sign

11.00am Ceremony commences with a welcome address by RBL Branch Chairman Paul Mills

Lt Col B W Vann VC, MC & Bar, Croix de Guerre Citation of the VC read by Captain Dave Maddock MERCIAN

Exhortation given by RBL Branch Chaplain Reverend John Tye

Last Post performed by RBL Branch Bugler Robert Crick with Standard lowered by RBL Branch Standard Bearer Robin Bryant. One minute's silence observed.

Wreath laid by pupils Elijah Lawson and Layla Jex from Rushden Primary Academy

Unveiling of Bernard Vann Close sign by Mr Michael Vann & Dr James Vann with family members present

Public Address given by the Vann family

RBL Branch Chairman invites those present to Rushden Hall for a Reception

Reception at Rushden Hall featuring the U3A Choir.

Thanks and Appreciation

The Vann family thank and appreciate the following for this special occasion:

East Northamptonshire Council - responsible for street naming and numbering

Barratt Homes - for funding the sign

Rushden Town Council - for the use of Rushden Hall

Royal British Legion Rushden Branch for organising ceremony

Rushden & District History Society - for research

Rushden Primary Academy - for the wreath layers

U3A Choir - for entertainment

Pizzeria Venezia Ltd - for catering

Rushden's VC hero, Lt Col The Rev Bernard William Vann, VC, MC & Bar, Croix de Guerre, is to be published later this year by Helion, leading military publishers. Written by Charles Beresford with the help of the Vann family. The title is The Christian Soldier.

Members of the family (left) watch as Mr Michael Vann and
Dr James Vann (centre) are ready to perform the unveiling

Assembling before the ceremony
left: Mr Michael Vann & Dr James Vann
l-r: Major Jake Baker, Philip Blanchard (Vice Chair Rushden RBL)
Rev Tye, Paul Mills, Harry Graham, David Harker, Robin Bryant, Robert Crick, ?.
Private Monjeza, Captain Maddock, Major (Retired) Baker
and Private Earp and the sign.

Click here to return to the main index of features
Click here to return to the History index
Click here to e-mail us