Click here to return to the main site entry page
Click here to return to the previous page

Station Road

Albany Terrace
Albany Terrace

9-15 Station Road

Built in 1894

The old factory The Evening Telegraph, Saturday, January 7, 1984

Plans to axe landmark - ONE of Rushden's most unusual landmarks is falling under the demolition man's hammer — possibly to make way for flats. The V shaped, four-storey Victorian building (pictured) used to house the Jaques and Clark shoe factory — one of the town's leading manufacturers in its heyday.

But the firm closed down in 1980 and plans are soon to go before East Northants Council for permission to build 27 flats with car parking facilities at the site at the junction of Midland Road and Station Road.

The scheme, submitted by Bedford architects on behalf of a Kempston builder, is likely to be considered on February 1.

Mr Tom Thacker, who worked at the factory for 52 years and became a co-director, said: "It is certainly a unique type of building. In the days when you could travel by train from Rushden to Wellingborough the factory was a very imposing building seen from the carriages."

A spokesman for the architects said the new building would retain the distinctive V shape outline. The flats would provide one and two bedroom accommodation.

The iconic Jaques & Clark shoe factory

Below: The flats that were built on the site of Jaques & Clark's fine factory which was demolished in 1984
Station Road side The flats

Factoiry behind the office block Previously Jaques & Son
Three pictures of the demolition in October 1998 of Totectors' factories
This one in Carnegie Street
This factory had been built originally for Jaques & Son - part was used at
sometime as a canteen
Demolition 1998
Totector Court
Looking across the factory site to the flats on the Jaques & Clark factory site
More flats on this site - Totector Court

Two lost buildings where Splash Pool stands today
St John HQ pool
St John Ambulance HQ c1910
The Swimming Pool built in 1928

1991 BU
The Ambulance Station demolished (2018)
The old BU building, used by Hunts Printers c2010
Right: The bottom section of Station Road in the
1916 Blizzard. The imposing building is Jaques & Clark
shoe factory. In front the BU building was just under construction. Next to that the Ambulance Station
above was built, and that faced the St John HQ
and the old Swimming Pool.


Below: Cyril Freeman's Garage, built on the site of the
old stables for the horses for the Railway Station.
The site has been derelict since about 2000.

Blizzard 1916
Freemans garge the workshop

The old British United Shoe Machine Co.'s factory, built in 1916, taken over by Hunts Printers, sold as a going concern but it was soon closed and the site sold.

A series of photos taken by Mervyn Wood
before demolition begins 2018


1991 ambulance station demolished
The Ambulance station iwas closed in 2016
Demolished in 2018

Click here to return to the main index of features
Click here to return to the History index
Click here to e-mail us